About Kelmend     Tourism     Gallery and Maps     Institutions     Development     Contact     Sitemap    
    Home  Institutions  Local government
            Local government
  Institutions - Local government
Like all other highlands, up to the XVII-th century, tribal self-governing characterized Kelmendi. After the establishment of ottoman rule, Kelmendi was a commune of Shkodra Kaza (District) and Sanxhak (municipality) but it has constantly been sli­ghtly independent. In the XVII century, bajrak (a kind of administrative unit), whose norms are even actually preserved, was organized. At the time of Bajrak the nobles and wise men of the county organized assemblies. By supporting the Canon of Mountains, they decided fight together for the defense of their country, reconciled people in disputes, judged different matters, mediated and made decisions. Those who committed murders were not as good as their word, robbed etc were severely punished. They were fined, friends could not visit their houses, they were not allowed to be buried in the vil­lage cemetery etc.
Border, water, street, and alpine-land disputes were settled within the county. They decided about the time they had to go to the alpine-lands, the time they had to cut trees, the yard of cemeteries etc. In the like manner, they set up chur­ches, carried out public works (built streets and bridges) and settled disputes even within families.
After 1914 the county was diversely called, first it was a sub-municipality of Malėsi e Madhe then a locality of Shkodra district, a joint village etc. Actually, it is a commune of Malėsi e Madhe
The Commune is the basic unit of local government and the Council of Commune is its main organism. Its members are designated by elections for the local government. A head of village, who is nominated by the group of eldest men-a consultative organ, represents each of the eight villages. The head of village participates in the meetings of the Council of Commune but he cannot vote. He takes care of keeping the public order and contributes to express the needs of the population
Administrative territory of Kelmendi is divided in eight (8) villages: Tamarė, Vermosh, Lepushė, Selcė, Brojė, Vukėl, Nikē and Kozhnjė. Tamara is the administrative center of the Commune. There are located the offices of the local government of Commune and there are held the meetings of the Council of Commune. The local elected authorities of Commune are the Council and the Head of Commune. Council of the Commune is the decision-mak­ing organ.
The head of Comune names and the party their represented after 1992 until present:
1992-1996  Gjeke Aliaj        Democratic Party
1996-2000  Rush Dragu       Democratic Party
2000-2003  Prele Gjelaj       Democratic Party
2003-2007  Kole Aliaj          Democratic Party
2007-         Ndue Lelcaj       DemoChristian Party + Democratic Party
The actual structure of administrative staff of the commune (2007):
·         chairman,
·         vice chairman
·         chief of the Finance,
·         specialist of the services,
·         secretary of the Council of the Commune,
·         accountant,
·         inspector for the agriculture,
·         veterinary inspector
·         tax specialist
·         specialists of the Economic Assistance (2)
·         cashier
·         operator for the Registration of the Population
·         driver,
·         worker for the archive
·         geometer specialist
·         police (2)
There are 62 workers under Kelmendi Commune administration.

(c) Copyright 2007 Commune of Kelmend - You are visitor # 128700
Sitemap - Credits - Legal Disclaimer